1st Summative Blog (1S)

Hi! Welcome to my 1st Summative Blog, my Lines and Shapes portfolio.

For our 1st Summative in Photography, our assignment was to take at least 10 photos that have lines and shapes, and edit them using the techniques studied in class. The learning I brought to this project was that I used everything I learnt in the formative classes to produce my final summative portfolio. I learnt a lot of new things in these first few weeks in Photography. Some of which are, how to use Photoshop and its tools, how to use Illustrator and its tools, how to be more efficient (being able to create something in a few seconds), how to take the best possible photos, and that editing an image takes more than just one click if you want the final product to be the best possible.

As I continue in Photography, I will take forward all the skills I learnt and keep practicing them because I know that sooner or later I will need to use them again. A great photo can only be great if you start with the basics and build up on them. Basically, no matter how much I learn in Photography, I will always need to use the things I learnt in the basics to fully progress.

In this art project, I tried to use all the skills and techniques I learnt in class. I also explored a lot of buttons and tools found on the Adobe programs (Bridge, Photoshop, Illustrator). One choice I made was to experiment with a photo more than 3 times so that I can decide which one I liked best based on the experiments I did. Something new I learnt was that every photo has some improvements to be made to it, no matter how perfect it looked to me. Something I would change would be to work on my time management, I take too long when editing or even just creating a pattern out of shapes.

In the next few posts, I will display my final 11 Summative photos. Each one will have a short description as to why I chose it as a final and what process it took to create the final piece.

Finally, I hope you enjoy!

Thank you =)

Leave a Reply

