Still Life Formative

Hello! Welcome to my Still Life Formative post. Below are some photos of what I’ve been up to since the beginning of the school year until now, I’ve also included a description for each heading describing what it’s all about and what my approach to it was. I have definitely progressed a lot with my drawing. I learnt to consider position and proportion a lot more, the various value scales and how to apply them, and how to combine all these things in my final.

Contour Lines

DSC_0573 DSC_0574DSC_0575

Contour Line drawing is all about looking at an object and drawing it without a glance at your paper. It is much harder than it sounds, but the point of it is not necessarily to get the object to look perfect but to draw it with as much concentration as possible. To draw an object, you must be the object. Even professional artists draw contour because it is a skill that stays with you as you progress. One choice I made was to try various objects to see how they would differ from one another, and whether they would be harder or easier than the other. Something new I learned was maximum concentration is extremely essential when drawing. You have to relax and empty your mind of everything other than the object. That way you “become the object” and will be able to draw it well. Something I would change is that I should have never glanced at the paper because that ruins the purpose of contour drawing. I wish I had been more strict with myself about that.

Geometric Forms

DSC_0577DSC_0582 DSC_0583

Geometric Forms is a skill I have practiced before, though I improved immensely in this unit. This focuses on proportion more than anything else. You can look at the paper while drawing the 3D shapes but it is still very tricky. I found it difficult to get the shapes to be the same size as in real life, but it was more difficult when you placed shapes side by side so that they have to be in proportion of each other. Then we stepped it up so that it became a ‘funky chicken’ composition which I found really interesting and fun. The photo on the top left with the 3D shapes is my best attempt although it is still a little wonky. My cube’s sides are coming out in opposite directions which is slightly worrying but I think my cone turned out quite well. One choice I made was to practice drawing objects (top right and bottom left photos) in proportion so that when it came to the final I would be prepared to do that well. When drawing these, I would start at the bottom and work my way up drawing shapes that look similar to the object so that when I ‘connected the dots’ it looked like the object in real life. Something new I learned was proportion really matters when it comes to still life drawing. It is very obvious to the viewer if there is something really out of proportion. Something I would change is the cube’s sides that look completely whacked up, and the bottle of super glue so that it stands up right a little more.

Value Scales

DSC_0585 DSC_0586DSC_0587

Value Scales are really important when applying color. They help you try out all different shades of color so that you get a sense of the ones you want to apply to your work. And it’s not just about color, there are so many different types of value materials, each one with different properties that are more useful than the other depending on what you want to do. Value scales are most importantly about value..duh! You could use the same color on two pieces of work and still make it look unique just by applying it in different angles (cross-hatch/dots/etc) or by applying it lightly/firmly making the overall shade change from the original product. Value is extremely significant because it makes 2D art almost pop out of the page, giving it a 3D aspect. It basically makes our drawings look more believable and realistic (which is AWESOME!!). One choice I made was that I was going to use a maximum of 4 different value materials on my final. I chose my 3 best values (chalk, vine chalk, oil pastel) and if I decide to challenge myself further, I’ll add a fourth (ink pen). Something new I learned was how to apply 8 value materials, chalk, vine chalk, oil pastel, ink pen, Sharpie markers, prismastiks, coloring pencils, and pencils with different lead types. I also learned the importance of value and how it really changes the outcome of a drawing. Something I would change is my ink pen and Sharpie markers’ values. I don’t think I did them very well in the formative, so perhaps if I worked on them a little more they would look better.

3/4 Formatives

DSC_0588 DSC_0589DSC_0590

The 3/4 Formatives are the last drawings I did before starting my final. They are very important because I was able to practice my drawing technique and improve it where necessary. I also got to practice putting all the value scales I learnt into action. As you can see above, I’ve only finished one because once I felt like I was ready to move on, I did. They are basically mock summatives (they matter because they help us work towards our final, but they don’t actually affect our grade for this unit). One choice I made was that I chose which two values would be applied onto each object. The objects that I chose matter because they influence the object I choose for my final. The objects above are all slightly old fashioned and they are all originally grey. I chose the roller skate because I wanted to focus on my detail in which it contained a lot of. I chose the portable wheel because it had a very interesting and organic shape, I especially wanted to challenge myself with the circularity of the wheel (spheres are very difficult to draw and get them proportionally correct). I chose the iron because it has a very complicated structure, and like the portable wheel, a challenge to draw but was very fun and interesting. Something new I learned was how to combine both value and contour drawing together to produce a very strong piece of still life. Something I would change is the iron’s value. The Sharpie markers and ink pen are very difficult to apply because once you apply them, you can’t remove them. If I had spent more time on the iron’s value it would have looked better.

 

Thank you!! =)

Leave a Reply

