Mandala Patterns

I have recently been working on some Mandala patterns. They focus on symmetry and how shapes fit together.

My first attempt was very successful considering it was my first try. I started with a square and kept building on that making all the other shapes fit into proportion. I think it looks like a snowflake, though that wasn’t my intention, I really like it. The color on the original was too much, and I felt black and white outlined it more, which is why I chose to display it this way. I made this Mandala by rotating copies of shapes, and overlapping them so that they create something much more complex, like below.

My second attempt was definitely better than my first. I knew some cheats that made the process much quicker but I also learnt new things that I included in this pattern. I originally wanted it to be simple because I don’t like to over crowd shapes onto each other. Then I realized that if I didn’t add more shapes, I wouldn’t be displaying my knowledge as well as I can, which is why I added much more shapes to the pattern. The end result turned out to look like a flower, almost like a very sophisticated poppy. I used different values of violet and some blue as my color choice because we were told to use the colors that appealed to us most. These colors also give off a cold aura, which is very cool. Though in my next one, I’d like to experiment more with my color choice and hopefully do a warmer aura using colors like red, orange and yellow.

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 10.14.59 AM

First Attempt

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 10.11.21 AM

Second Attempt

Leave a Reply

