Photo Olympics (Final Summative)

Hello!! Welcome to my FIFTH and FINAL summative blog post! =D

The assignment for our last project is to capture 6 photos from the set of 11 concepts/ideas listed on Haiku. Photo Olympics is the theme of this project, and I think that is a very creative title for this last assignment. The purpose of this task is to show Mr Stavinoha what we’re made of, it’s our last chance to prove our skills and all that we learnt throughout the first semester.

In the duration of this art project, I have incorporated all that I’ve been taught, taking it into consideration whenever I’m taking a picture, to get the best result possible. Photography is a subject I never thought I’d be able to take, and I am so grateful ASD has provided me the chance to do so. I have learnt so much and now I truly feel that I’m capable of creating art works out of my photography. I’ve learnt to consider many aspects in my photo, for example, visual weight (and how to balance it out), lighting, negative space, color vs. colorless (black and white)..I could go on forever. I know now that a professional photographer always takes a photo of something in both a horizontal, and a vertical frame (which I’ve began to do). One of the most important things I’ve learned is that even the simplest thing to the eye, can turn out to look abstract and cool if you experiment with perspectives.

Obstacles are a large part of learning, and I’ve definitely faced some. We were given this assignment the week before our Winter break, which is very clever, for that gives us time during our holiday to take pictures, especially if we are traveling. However, everyday I look at my homework and find that I need to take pictures, I decide to stall it and say I’ll do it later. The second week of break rolls in and I still haven’t taken any photos! I started freaking out, but now I’m glad I did because it motivated me to get the pictures done. Now, I’m the first person in my class that’s finished their Photo Olympics portfolio. Another obstacle I faced was having awareness. It’s not that I didn’t have it, because I did, especially at the end, I’ve become very good at spotting the concepts/ideas wherever I go. The problem was that I wanted to get outstanding photos, photos that would make you stare in awe forever. I came up with the solution to just take photos and let my awareness guide me, and I did just that. Today, I am very proud of my photos and what I’ve been able to do as a whole. I feel like I’ve improved A LOT since the beginning of the year, and that is a great achievement.

So enough with the talk, LET THE PHOTO OLYMPICS BEGIN!

Below are my final 6 Photo Olympics entries..I really hope they find their way to Mr Stavinoha’s heart. 😉 Credits to my garden, my patio, my house’s furniture, and of course, the streets in Dubai, I couldn’t have done it without you all. With each work of art is an inside story of the process it took to achieve the Olympics-worthy photos, and what’s it’s all about. But before we get on with the show, allow me greet the Photo Olympics judge..Mr Stavinoha!! *applause*

 

and now..

SPECTACULAR SIGHTINGS BELOW =D

 

Dark figure on light background

 Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 1.24.38 PM

This is probably, no, scratch that, DEFINITELY my all time favorite photo of the whole set! Well, at least ever since our grand judge told me how wonderfully awesome it is!! =D And what better way to start the show than to start with the photo our grand judge adores..it’s also so that he’s in a good mood to give me good grades heh heh..but don’t tell him that! Ok, so I took this brilliant photo from the window of my car (you can probably tell from the sun glares on the top left^^). This is probably the only fault in this picture, so I’m glad it’s not that obvious. What I love most about this photo is the negative space between the traffic lights on the right side, but also how the traffic lights are arranged. The negative space between them also forms the shape of the letter E, which is pretty cool. Another thing I’m particularly proud of is the red arrow light on the top left side of the picture. I didn’t even realize this when I was taking the photo, red is a very attractive color, it captures our attention instantly which is great visual weight. Finally, Mr Stavinoha showed me some photography work by a professional photographer that changed the background color of the photos he took. I did that to this photo by changing the hue and saturation of the background until I was satisified with the image you see now. I kept it light so that the photo can still fall under the category of dark figure on a light background, and also chose it because red and salmon orange are relatives on the color wheel. An amazing image overall =D

Texture

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.15.18 PM

Texture is one of the easiest concepts to achieve for it is all over the place! Wherever you go you will definitely be able to find some texture somewhere, especially in Dubai with all its palm trees. I took this picture in my backyard, where I found several others concepts I could take (you will soon see below). It turns out that botany is a really good subject for most of these concepts because of how complicated and abstract their patterns are. I really like how the bark on palm trees always looks different from one to the other. Specifically in this photo, I like the way the bark moves right and left. I also like the color this palm tree has, a more purplish color than the common beige/brownish color in most of them. An interesting part of this photo is the black carvings on the top left and on the bottom right. They add a contrast of value to the picture, they are very dark while the rest of the picture is very light and cool.

Macro

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.10.48 PM

I love this photo! I took this in my first photography assignment, Lines and Shapes. It brings back the memories..but let’s not get into that or I’ll start to tear up. This photo is of a white flower in a vase at my house. The original photo is of the whole flower, and the pollen is zoomed out. I felt that because it was a very sharp picture, it would be great to zoom in on the pollen and crop it. And that’s what I did! I really like the texture the pollen has, you can almost see every grain on it. Beautiful. I left the green stem on the top right because it gives the pollen a base, or else it would just look like its floating in mid-air. I also purposely left the black area on the left middle because it creates a triangle negative space which I found was pretty cool. I changed the lighting on this image because it was much too dull and a little dark, so by adding more light to it, it looks better and gives a happier aura to it. An awesome photo, I must say.

Abstract

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.14.48 PM

I was playing piano one day, thinking about the many possibilities of photos I could take for my Photo Olympics set. That is when I looked at the reflection of my hands pressing on the keys, and I got the brilliant idea of capturing the reflection of the keys against the actual keys. I predicted that it would look abstract because no one ever really notices the reflection, and so the real keys would look like they were going right through the piano to the other side. I’m really proud of this picture because it shows me that I have awareness and that I understand how photography works. I also like the fact that there is mainly just black and white in this photo, they’re complete opposites so they bring each other out making sure that the viewer will see the whole image because of this. There is also a red strip going along the line between the real keys and the reflection keys that gives a well needed visual weight to the image. It also separates the photo in an even diagonal which was unintentional, but very cool!

Color Contrast

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.14.22 PM

Once again, a photograph I took in my backyard. At first, when I showed the original zoomed out photo to our judge, he told me that there was too much going on, that flower photography needed to be narrowed down to one particular area so that it gave a better and stronger view. And that’s what I did. I took his advice and zoomed in on the flower as much as I could with my camera, then captured the image. I then zoomed in further using Photoshop to get this final image. I really like how sharp the red petals on the flower look, and how contrasting they are in color to the green leaves. As soon as I saw this flower bush from my bedroom window, I realized immediately that I could use it for a contrasting image in my Photo Olympics set. Beautifully brilliant!

Symmetrical Balance

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 2.13.00 PM

Last but not least, my final photograph in my Photography course. Wow, time sure flies by! Though, I am proud to say that this is one of my best photos. I mean how can one single image capture 3 different concepts? I had to choose between Ant’s Eye View, Pattern, or Symmetrical Balance. The decision was easy, the one that was displayed the strongest was of course Symmetrical Balance. This is yet another picture I took in my backyard, specifically on my porch. I was in my kitchen having a drink of water when I looked outside and saw this pattern! I was over the moon with joy, so I didn’t waste a moment to get my camera and capture the picture. I really like how this image is also abstract in a way because you really don’t know what you’re looking at. The vertical lines on the ground attract the viewer’s attention because lines are things humans follow with their eyes. This photo also has very good depth, it looks like it could go on forever, which is very cool. Final photo of my Photo Olympics set, can’t get any better!

So I guess this is goodbye..I will promise to keep taking photos and even post some every once in a while. I learnt a great deal and never would have thought I would actually become good at something I started only a few months ago. There is also a great deal I still need to learn, and I won’t stop until I’m truly an expert..even then I won’t stop! This is very bittersweet. I will truly miss my Photography class, and all the funny moments we had. It really is one of the best courses at ASD, and anyone that tries is it out won’t regret it.

THANK YOU FOR AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE..AND A MEMORABLE FIRST SEMESTER AT ASD! =D

Leave a Reply

