Text Manipulation (Final Summative)

Hello! Welcome to my FIFTH and FINAL digital art summative blog post.

Although Photography is the main focus in this course, with each set of photos we took, we were to complete a specific digital art task. Today, I present to you my Text Manipulation set. It is by far the best digital art I’ve done all semester. I learnt how to do a lot of new tricks, I learnt to take proportion and positioning of things into account, and I learnt to create masterpieces of art by just using the Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop programs. Impressive, am I right?

Well, let’s have a look..

 

My Name Composition

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 11.38.24 AM

If you didn’t know me, you know me now! Unscramble the letters above and you get, Rayhan. I would say that this piece is my favorite, however, my whole Text Manipulation set is out of this world, so how could I lie to you? =P Haha, anyways, I must credit Mr Stavinoha for pushing me to experiment with new things. I wouldn’t have reached this product had it not been for his encouraging. I now know to keep exploring and trying new things, because if I don’t, I won’t know what I’m capable of achieving. This composition reminded me of my childhood. The letters are a variety of colors, and against a black background they give a blackboard/preschool type of feeling to it. I don’t know, maybe I’m just getting a little touchy. =) I also like how I used some complimentary colors (purple and yellow, red and green) to bring out the letters and make them stand out. If I had changed the “n” to an orange color, I would have all pairs of complimentary colors. But that would be too typical, and I wanted to achieve something bizarre, abstract, and just ultimately cool. I can safely say I achieved just that.

One Letter Compostion

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 8.06.36 AM

Before you say anything, I’ll say it for you..WHAT?! Yes, I did this^^. I told you I couldn’t say I had a favorite, because I really don’t! I made this composition with one letter, an “i”. I wanted to get an abstract but still distinguishable piece. I chose to do an “i” because it is one of the most interesting letters in English. It has a dot which is something you can manipulate in digital art very well, and using different fonts the “i” looks exceptionally different. I used Illustrator to type in different fonts of “i”s, then I pasted them in to Photoshop and arranged them as I wished. One challenge I faced was that I would try to cram them all in. However, I realised that even with just a few distinct “i”s, I could create a masterpiece using my knowledge on negative space, positioning, visual weight, and proportion. I also changed the opacity of some of the letters to create contrast in value, which leads to visual weight. The most significant negative space I created was the white “i” on the right. I created this with the help of Mr Stavinoha by using the gradient tool. Finally, I manipulated the sizes of the letters by pressing the cmd and T buttons at the same time. Once I played around with all these aspects, I got to this final product! Sounds like a lot of work, but you won’t believe how little amount of time it takes to do all this.

Image and Quote Composition

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 8.05.48 AM

And for the finale, my last Text Manipulation piece, an image with a quote. I have to admit, I had to go through a lot of choosing and decision making to decide on the best quote to illustrate. You have to take into account whether the quote is something you can take a picture of, and you have to make sure you know what the meaning behind it is, because it would be pretty embarrassing if you got that wrong.. Ok, so I chose to do Michael McMillian’s quote, “You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading the last one”. I felt that it had a very strong meaning to it, and I believe that a quote is only good if it makes you stop and think about it. I also really like how it is a metaphor for life, it’s something everyone can relate to. I went through another long list of artistic decisions to choose the best way to capture a book. Since the quote talks about chapters, I thought it would be pretty appropriate to take a picture of a book. I finally decided on having a hard-back novel be opened up in the middle with some of its papers in mid-air. I felt that that created really good negative space, and with such an ordinary subject like a book, there needed to be some jazz to it, so I took a photo of it in a way people don’t often see books in. Finally, I chose a clear font that people won’t have trouble reading, and typed in the quote on the brown background.

Mr Stavinoha, thank you for an amazing Photography course. I learnt A LOT of new things, and I have only you to thank for that. I hope I get the pleasure of having you as a teacher in a future art course. Thank you!! =D

Leave a Reply

